Louisiana Tech University Logo

College of Liberal Arts - Louisiana Tech University

School of
History and Social Sciences

Faculty and Staff

History Faculty

Dr. David M. Anderson
Dr. Anderson

Associate Professor (PhD, University of North Carolina)
U.S. social history, popular culture, technology, and labor history

GTM 114A
318-257-5253
davida@latech.edu

Dr. A. Nazir Atassi
Atassi

Assistant Professor (PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara)
Islam, Middle East, World History

GTM 138
318-257-5484
aatassi@latech.edu

Dr. Jeffery R. Hankins
Dr. Hankins

Associate Professor (PhD, Louisiana State University)
Britain, early modern Europe, Colonial America

GTM 111
318-257-3344
 jhankins@latech.edu

Dr. Andrew McKevitt
Dr. McKevitt

Assistant Professor (PhD, Temple University)
U.S. History, History of Foreign Relations, Modern Europe

GTM 118
318-257-3883
mckevitt@latech.edu

Mr. Joshua Ockman

Adjunct Instructor (MA, University of Louisiana at Monroe)

Dr. V. Elaine Thompson
Dr. Thompson

Associate Professor (PhD, Rice University)
U.S. South, early America, local and public history

GTM 110
318-257-2144
elainet@latech.edu

Dr. Stephen Webre
Dr. Webre

Professor (PhD, Tulane University)
Latin America
Interim Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts

GTM 104
318-257-2660
swebre@latech.edu

Dr. Robert Whitaker

Visiting Assistant Professor (PhD, University of Texas)

GTM 118
318-257-5482
whitaker@latech.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Kenneth W. Rea, Professor and Vice President for Academic Affairs (PhD, Colorado) 1968-2012, email: rea@latech.edu
John C. Brewer, Professor and Director, Tech Barksdale (PhD, Texas)1970-2012, email: jbrewer@latech.edu
Phillip Cook, Professor (PhD, Georgia) 1963-1964, 1969-2008
B. H. Gilley, Professor (PhD, Georgia) 1967-1996

 

Social Sciences Faculty

Dr. Jason Pigg

Department Head

Associate Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
Joe D. Waggonner Endowed Professor of Politcal Science

Contact:
jpigg@latech.edu
318.257.3427
GTM 137

Ms. Carina Shultz

Administrative Coordinator

Contact:
cshultz@latech.edu
318.257.3427
GTM 137

Dr. Christobel Asiedu

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Contact:
casiedu@latech.edu
318.257.4143
GTM 127C

Dr. Jamie Boydstun

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Mississippi State University

Contact:
jamieb@latech.edu
318.257.4735
GTM 112

Dr. Kristen Burton

Visiting Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas - Arlington

Contact:
kburton@latech.edu
318.257.3883
GTM 132

Dr. Irene Casas

Assistant Professor of Geographic Information Sciences
Ph.D., The Ohio State University

Contact:
icasas@latech.edu
318.257.2774
GTM 144

Dr. Taylor E. Mack
Taylor Mack

Associate Professor of Geography
Ph.D., Louisiana State University

Contact:
tmack@latech.edu
318.257.4741
GTM 127A

Dr. Jeremy J. Mhire

Assistant Professor of Political Science
M.A., Ph.D., Louisiana State University

Contact:
jmhire@latech.edu
318.257.5486
GTM 124

Dr. Amanda Sanford
Dr. Sanford

Assistant Professor of Political Science
Ph.D., University of Tennessee

Contact:
asanford@latech.edu
318.257.5485
GTM 140


OmniUpdate